TannenhofHISTORY

By now the Schnei­ders fami­ly has been working in the Christ­mas tree busi­ness for more than fif­ty years. It all star­ted in Duis­burg in the late fif­ties when Her­mann und Mar­lies Schnei­ders dealt in fruits and vege­ta­bles. During the advent sea­son they sup­ple­men­ted their offe­rings on the far­mers’ mar­kets with Christ­mas trees that were bought from fores­ters from Bel­gi­um or from the “Sauer­land” in Ger­ma­ny. First the only trees offe­red were Nor­way spruces that were obtai­ned by the nor­mal thin­ning out of forests. In 1963 the fami­ly star­ted sel­ling Christ­mas trees at the “Super-Maga­zin” in Duis­burg-Mei­de­rich which was also their first stall that was exclu­si­ve­ly used for sel­ling Christ­mas trees. Here Mar­lies Schnei­ders con­ti­nued sel­ling Christ­mas trees every year until the end of 2012. During the years more and more pla­ces fol­lo­wed, main­ly in the Ruhr­ge­biet.

Ori­gi­nal­ly Her­mann Schnei­ders and his fami­ly come from Ham­buch (Eifel) whe­re they were working as far­mers. Soon Her­mann Schnei­ders rea­li­sed the poten­ti­al of pro­du­cing and sel­ling Christ­mas trees and thus it didn’t take him long to set up the first com­mer­ci­al Christ­mas tree plan­ta­ti­on on one of the family’s fiel­ds.

Working on the field during win­ter was bur­den­so­me. Cut­ting down the trees, remo­ving them from the forest, loa­ding them on trucks – ever­y­thing had to be done under win­try wea­ther con­di­ti­ons. The­re­fo­re Her­mann Schnei­ders star­ted thin­king on how to impro­ve the con­di­ti­ons and faci­li­ta­te the work qui­te soon. The most important result of his efforts was pro­bab­ly the inven­ti­on of a hydrau­lic machi­ne to wrap the trees with the typi­cal net for which he recei­ved a patent in 1980. Howe­ver he was able to find solu­ti­ons for all are­as invol­ved – star­ting at the begin­ning with impro­ve­ments in plan­ting the seed­lings just till the end with faci­li­ta­ti­ons of loa­ding and sel­ling.

In 2002 the com­pa­ny foun­der died of a heart attack in the midd­le of the Christ­mas sea­son. Without hesi­ta­ti­on his daugh­ter Clau­dia and her hus­band Georg Val­der took over the respon­si­bi­li­ty for the firm.

They star­ted to rest­ruc­tu­re the com­pa­ny in a cau­tious but con­ti­nuous man­ner. The tra­di­tio­nal agri­cul­tu­re, the catt­le-bree­ding and also the pro­duc­tion of Her­mann Schnei­ders’ wrap­ping machi­nes were shut down whe­re­as the cul­ti­va­ti­on of Christ­mas trees and the pro­duc­tion of folia­ge have been expan­ded con­ti­nuous­ly. Today the com­pa­ny has rough­ly 120 hec­ta­re of cul­ti­va­ti­on area and is thus one of the big play­ers in the Christ­mas tree busi­ness.

As the pro­fi­ta­bi­li­ty of the stalls in the Ruhr­ge­biet decrea­sed con­ti­nuous­ly – a result of the gro­wing com­pe­ti­ti­on from buil­ding cen­tres that sell Christ­mas trees for mar­ke­ting rea­sons – the­se stalls were shut down gra­dual­ly.

Today the aim of Tan­nen­hof Schnei­ders is to pro­du­ce Chris­mas trees and folia­ge in lar­ge lot sizes but in a decent qua­li­ty and for rea­son­ab­le pri­ces!

In the con­text of exten­si­ve but necessa­ry res­to­ra­ti­on mea­su­res we have instal­led a huge solar power sys­tem on the halls’ roof in Ham­buch in 2011.

Cur­r­ent­ly we are plan­ning to set up an elec­tro­ly­sis faci­li­ty with which we want to use the solar ener­gy to pro­du­ce hydro­gen for fuel cell vehi­cles direct­ly at the Tan­nen­hof.

Our for­mer cow­shed has been trans­for­med into an events hall with a capa­ci­ty for up to 1000 peop­le. The events at our loca­ti­on are gro­wing in popu­la­ri­ty among the peop­le that are living in the sur­roun­ding regi­on. Espe­ci­al­ly the “Home­jer Fich­tel­kir­mes” which is sup­por­ted by the local asso­cia­ti­ons of Ham­buch has alre­ady beco­me a con­stant in the event sche­du­le.

The first steps have been made to esta­blish the Tan­nen­hof as an events loca­ti­on and cul­tu­ral cent­re for the who­le regi­on.

TannenhofHISTORIE

Die Fami­lie Schnei­ders ist bereits seit über 50 Jah­ren im Weih­nachts­baum­ge­schäft aktiv. Alles begann Ende der 50er Jah­re in Duis­burg. Her­mann und Mar­lies Schnei­ders han­del­ten dort mit Obst und Gemü­se. In der Advent­zeit erwei­ter­ten sie ihr Ange­bot auf dem Wochen­markt mit Weih­nachts­bäu­men. Damals waren Rot­fich­ten der ein­zig ange­bo­te­ne Baum. Die Bäu­me wur­den von Förs­tern im Sauer­land und in Bel­gi­en zuge­kauft. Sie kamen aus der nor­ma­len Aus­dün­nung des Wal­des. 1963 begann der Ver­kauf am SUPER-MAGAZIN in Duis­burg-Mei­de­rich. Der ers­te rei­ne Weih­nachts­baum­markt der Fami­lie. Mar­lies Schnei­ders hat dort bis 2012 in jedem Jahr einen gros­sen Stand betrie­ben. Wei­te­re Ver­kaufs­stän­de, größ­ten­teils an den gros­sen Ver­brau­cher­märk­ten im Ruhr­ge­biet, folg­ten.

Die Fami­lie von Her­mann Schnei­ders stammt aus Ham­buch in der Eifel. Sie betrieb dort tra­di­tio­nel­le Land­wirt­schaft. Schon sehr früh erkann­te Her­mann Schnei­ders das Poten­ti­al das in der Pro­duk­ti­on und Ver­mark­tung der Weih­nachts­bäu­me lag. Der Schritt zur ers­ten kom­mer­zi­el­len Weih­nachts­baum­plan­ta­ge auf einem Acker der Fami­lie war des­halb schnell gemacht.

Die Arbeit in den Plan­ta­gen haupt­säch­lich im Win­ter war hart. Das Ein­schla­gen, Schlep­pen der Bäu­me aus dem Wald, Ver­la­den auf LKW´s — alles muss­te bei win­ter­li­chen Wit­te­rungs­be­din­gun­gen gemacht wer­den. Schon früh begann Her­mann Schnei­ders dar­über nach­zu­den­ken wie die Arbeit erleich­tert wer­den konn­te. Krö­nung sei­ner Bemü­hun­gen war die Ent­wick­lung der hydrau­li­schen Weih­nachts­baum- Ein­netz­ma­schi­ne, für die er 1980 ein Patent erhielt.

Aber auch für alle ande­ren Arbei­ten vom Pflan­zen der Setz­lin­ge bis zum Ver­la­den und dem Ver­kauf — in allen Berei­chen ersann er maschi­nel­le Lösun­gen, die die Arbeit leich­ter und effi­zi­en­ter mach­ten.

Im Jahr 2002 ver­starb der Fir­men­grün­der mit­ten im Weih­nachts­baum­ge­schäft an einem Herz­in­farkt. Ohne zu zögern über­nah­men sei­ne Toch­ter Clau­dia und ihr Ehe­mann Georg Val­der die Ver­ant­wor­tung für den Betrieb.

Unter ihrer Füh­rung wur­de der Betrieb behut­sam aber kon­ti­nu­ier­lich umstruk­tu­riert. Die tra­di­tio­nel­le Land­wirt­schaft und die Vieh­zucht wur­den eben­so ein­ge­stellt wie die Her­stel­lung der Ein­netz­ma­schi­nen. Der Weih­nachts­baum­an­bau und die Schnitt­grün­pro­duk­ti­on hin­ge­gen wur­den als Kern­ge­schäft wei­ter aus­ge­baut. Der Betrieb umfasst heu­te 120 Hekt­ar Anbau­flä­che und gehört damit zu den Gro­ßen der Bran­che.

Die Ver­kaufs­stän­de im Ruhr­ge­biet wur­den nach und nach zurück­ge­fah­ren, weil deren Ren­ta­bi­li­tät sehr unter der wach­sen­den Kon­kur­renz der Bau­märk­te litt, die Weih­nachts­bäu­me haupt­säch­lich zu Mar­ke­ting­zwe­cken anbie­ten.

Ziel des Unter­neh­mens ist es heu­te, Weih­nachts­bäume und Schnitt­grün in einer ordent­li­chen Qua­li­tät zu akzep­ta­blen Prei­sen, aber in hohen Stück­zah­len zu pro­du­zie­ren!

Am Stand­ort Ham­buch wur­de im Rah­men von ohne­hin not­wen­di­gen umfang­rei­chen Sanie­rungs­maß­nah­men im Jahr 2011 eine gro­ße Pho­to­vol­ta­ik­an­la­ge auf den Dächern der Betriebs­ge­bäu­de instal­liert.

In naher Zukunft ist die Errich­tung einer Elek­tro­ly­se-Anla­ge geplant, die mit dem Strom der Pho­to­vol­ta­ik­an­la­ge direkt am Tan­nen­hof Was­ser­stoff als Treib­stoff für Brenn­stoff­zel­len Fahr­zeu­ge pro­du­zie­ren soll.

Der ehe­ma­li­ge Kuh­stall wur­de in eine Ver­an­stal­tungs­hal­le für bis zu 1000 Per­so­nen ver­wan­delt. Die Ver­an­stal­tun­gen auf dem Tan­nen­hof erfreu­en sich bei den Men­schen der Regi­on wach­sen­der Beliebt­heit. Die von den Ham­bu­cher Orts­ver­ei­nen getra­ge­ne „Home­jer Fich­tel­kir­mes“ auf dem Tan­nen­hof ist bereits jetzt ein fes­te Grös­se im Ver­an­stal­tungs­ka­len­der.

Die ers­ten Schrit­te sind gemacht den Tan­nen­hof als Ver­an­stal­tungs- und Kul­tur­zen­trum für die gesam­te Regi­on zu eta­blie­ren.